clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Frank Kaminsky nominated for Best Male College Athlete in 2015 ESPY's

New, comments

The Charlotte Hornets first round pick, Frank Kaminsky, is nominated for an ESPY award tonight. Does he stand a chance?

Bob Donnan-USA TODAY Sports

It's time for the 2015 ESPYs are back and tonight the hardworking athletes from over this last year will be recognized.  Among those athletes is the Charlotte Hornets newest draft pick, Frank Kaminsky, who has been nominated for Best Male College Athlete. Of course, that's the not the only award that will be given out tonight. Accolades ranging from Best Record-Breaking Performance to Best Male/Female Athlete with a Disability will be awarded.

With Kaminsky coming off a spectacular season last year at Wisconsin, the former Badger is going against some stiff competition.

Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin Basketball

Kaminsky is coming off his best season in college winning the John R. Wooden Award as the nation's college basketball player of the year.  He averaged 18.8 points and 8.2 rebounds per game.

Jack Eichel, Boston University Hockey

Eichel took home the Hoby Baker Award, which is given to the nation's top college hockey player.  He was only the second freshman to ever receive the award.  He was selected by the Buffalo Sabres with the No. 2 pick in the NHL Draft.

Marcus Mariota, Oregon Football

Mariota claimed the Heisman Trophy this season given to the most outstanding player in college football.  He received the second highest percentage of votes in Heisman voting history (90.92 percent).  He was selected with the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft to the Tennessee Titans.

Dansby Swanson, Vanderbilt Baseball

Swanson was named a finalist for the Golden Spikes Award, which is for the top amateur baseball player in the country.  He was selected with the No. 1 overall pick to the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Logan Stieber, Ohio State Wrestling

Stieber was awarded the Hodge Trophy, college wrestling's top award.  He won his fourth straight national title this year, which only four wrestlers in NCAA history have accomplished.

An eerie stat from all of the finalists, excluding Stieber, is that their team lost in the national championship game in their sport this year.  Will Hornets forward Frank Kaminsky take home the award tonight?  Tune into ABC at 8 p.m. ET.