clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kemba Walker wins 2017 Sportsmanship Award

Walker is the first Hornets player to win the award.

NBA: Awards Show Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

Last night was the inaugural edition of the NBA Awards show, and Kemba Walker took home the Sportsmanship Award.

The award, officially called the Joe Dumars trophy, is given to a player that exemplifies “principles of sportsmanship, fair play and integrity.” One member from each NBA team casts a vote, which makes it a distinguished award voted on by players, rather than the media. Recent winners include Mike Conley and Kyle Korver. It’s the first time a Charlotte Hornets player has been awarded the trophy.

“I’m honored to be recognized by the NBA and my peers with an award that acknowledges that basketball is more than just a game,” said Walker last night.

Here is full video of Walker acceptance speech:

The award caps off a great individual season for Walker, who was named to the All-Star team for the first time last February. It’s a well deserved award for the Hornets captain.